Home » Local »  26 ordained to permanent diaconate

26 ordained to permanent diaconate

Deacons stand at the foot of the altar of the Cathedral of the Holy Cross to receive the Book of Gospels during their ordination Mass May 31. Pilot photo/ Gregory L. Tracy

Help us expand our reach! Please share this article

SOUTH END -- Twenty-six men were ordained to the permanent diaconate at the Cathedral of the Holy Cross on May 31.

The new deacons are: Thomas Anthony, Robert F. Breen, Gregory J. Burch, Jesus Castillo, Anthony J. Constantino, Joseph M. Fagan, Jr., Charles A. Ferraro, Richard P. Field, Jr., David R. Ghioni, Frederick B. Horgan, Alejandro Iraola, Pedro LaTorre, Brian Laws, Michael Markham, Francis McHugh, Michael Mott, Van Nguyen, Jorge A. Patino, Jose Perez-Rodrigues, Victor R. Rivero, Manuel A. Rosario, Edwin J. Robinson, Jr., Neil J. Sumner, James G. Theriault, Julio C. Vargas and Edin Velasquez. Deacon Alfredo Nieves was ordained at a special ceremony on Dec. 23, 2007.

The ordination began with the Liturgy of the Word, which was followed by the rite of ordination.

The ceremony was a bi-lingual service since nine of the ordinandi are Spanish-speakers. The first reading was in English, the second in Spanish and the Gospel was read in both languages. While delivering most of his homily in English, Cardinal Seán P. O’Malley also addressed the nine men in their native tongue.

He said in Spanish that the disciples’ inheritance was the Lord, and they gave up everything for him. Jesus Christ called them to an intimate relationship with him and asked them to follow in his footsteps, he said.

Speaking in English, Cardinal O’Malley said it is a great challenge to follow in the footsteps of the “greatest servant in the world.”

Help us expand our reach! Please share this article

Submit a Letter to the Editor