Home » Local »  Cheverus Award recipients announced

Cheverus Award recipients announced

Bishop Cheverus Medal Pilot file photo/Gregory L. Tracy

Help us expand our reach! Please share this article

BRAINTREE -- In recognition of service to the Catholic community in the Boston Archdiocese, 96 people will receive a Cheverus Award Medal from Cardinal Seán P. O'Malley during a 3 p.m. prayer service at the Cathedral of the Holy Cross on Nov. 20.

"It's the Catholic version of the unsung hero award," said Scot Landry, secretary for Catholic Media in the archdiocese.

Established in 2008, in conjunction with the archdiocese's bicentennial celebration, the Cheverus Award is named after the first Bishop of Boston, Jean-Louis Lefebvre de Cheverus. Bishop Cheverus led the diocese from 1808 until his return to his native France in 1824.

The award is given to lay people, deacons and religious in parishes and other archdiocesan ministries for their service to the Church and the people of God. Recipients are nominated by pastors, regional bishops and the central ministries of the archdiocese. Cardinal O'Malley also chooses some of the recipients personally.

"These folks have all served the parish and the community of faith in the archdiocese extraordinarily well over a period of many years," said Landry.

In a homily during last year's Cheverus Awards prayer service, Cardinal O'Malley thanked recipients for their "humble" service.

"The archdiocese would come to a screeching halt without the army of volunteer staff that carries out, day by day, our faith and activities," said the cardinal.

Help us expand our reach! Please share this article

Submit a Letter to the Editor