Around the archdiocese

The archdiocese's Planning Office for Urban Affairs has been awarded "Project of the Year: Mixed Income" by Multi-Family Executive Magazine for their work on The St. Aidan residential development in Brookline.

Dedicated in June the St. Aidan is a smart growth development made possible by close collaboration of the Planning Office for Urban Affairs, the Town of Brookline, state and federal government agencies and Bank of America. The development features 59 units of mixed-income housing on 1.8 acres and combines conservation, historic preservation, and public access to environmental amenities.


CatholicTV began offering its entire slate of programming in high-definition as of Oct. 13.

"Having the entire network available for HD viewing both on TV and on will continue to bring more people to our family-positive shows," said CatholicTV President Father Robert Reed.

The announcement marked the third major technological advancement for CatholicTV network in the last month. CatholicTV recently launched a social networking community named iCatholic, and rolled out a new digital magazine within iCatholic that is available online, the iPhone and the iPad.


Emmanuel College has welcomed its largest undergraduate enrollment in the school's 91-year history.

Since becoming co-ed, Emmanuel's undergraduate enrollment has more than tripled to 1,750 from 528 in 2000. Applications have risen from 550 in 2000 to 6,129 for the 2010-2011 academic year.

Emmanuel's combined enrollment, including its graduate and professional program students, is 2,400.


Massachusetts Citizens for Life has announced their annual award recipients who will be honored at the organization's yearly dinner Oct. 30.

Marianne Luthin, pro-life director for the Archdiocese of Boston, will receive the Dr. Joseph Stanton Award.

Bill Kelly, of Holyoke, a member of MCFL's state Board of Directors, will receive the Peggy McCormack Award.

Winners of the Ignatius O'Connor Award are Laurette Loiselle, Jackie Antonioni and Claire Rollo, all of MCFL's Fitchburg/Leominster Chapter.

Chapter Service Awards will be presented to Paulette Martinville of the Greater Fall River chapter, Janet McCarthy of the North Suburban chapter and Pat and Jim Reilly of the West Roxbury/Roslindale chapter.

Pro-Life Community Awards are being given to Janet Callahan, of the North Suburban chapter, Kathleen Lopolito of the Burlington chapter and Doris Toohill of the Cape Cod chapter.