Permanent deacons to be ordained Sept. 21

SOUTH END -- Cardinal Seán P. O'Malley will ordain 12 men permanent deacons at 10 a.m. on Sept. 21, at the Cathedral of the Holy Cross.

"The archdiocese is grateful for their generous response to God's call to serve the Church as ministers of Charity, Sacrament, and Word. We are also deeply grateful to their wives and children for all of their support, sacrifice, and prayer in supporting the candidates' vocations," said director of diaconal life and ministry Deacon Patrick Guerrini.

Originally scheduled for Sept. 14, the archdiocese changed the date of the ordination because of the cardinal's availability.

The archdiocese and the Office of the Permanent Diaconate invite all to come and support the new deacons as they receive the Sacrament of Holy Orders. Priests and deacons are invited to vest in white Boston vestments.

The men to be ordained Sept. 21 are: Matthew P. Baltier, John David Barry, John H. Beagan Jr., John J. Burkly, Paul G. Coletti, Richard Joseph Cussen, Timothy Francis Donohue, Joseph R. Flocco Jr., Joseph P. Harrington Sr., William Mark Jackson, Kevin P. Martin Jr., and William Roland Proulx.